skip to Main Content

The Montgomery College Board of Trustees held its ninth meeting of the academic year Monday, May 16, 2016.

The trustees approved a new three-year AFSCME agreement and memorandums of understanding with the American Association of University Professors and the Service Employees International Union for compensation changes to the FY17 budget. Montgomery College President Dr. DeRionne P. Pollard expressed her “profuse gratitude” to the members of the employee bargaining units for their work on these agreements.

In other business, the Board of Trustees recognized the Class of 2016 including the first ACES (Achieving Collegiate Excellence and Success) graduates. The 16 graduating ACES students will all transfer to four-year institutions. The ACES program is designed to increase access to higher education for students who are most often underrepresented in college classrooms, as well as those who would be the first in their family to attend college. It is a collaborative effort among Montgomery College, Montgomery County Public Schools, and the Universities at Shady Grove.

The board also modified admission policies for dual enrollment students, removing barriers, streamlining enrollment approval processes and increasing enrollment eligibility. Specifically, the modification eliminates the requirement that dual enrollment students must test at the college level in English, reading and math for all credit-bearing classes if they meet all required prerequisites for the classes.

Finally, the board of trustees held a moment of silence for Malcolm “Mike” Winffel. He lost his life saving a stranger when shots were fired at a local shopping mall. Mike was the husband of Norma Winffel, a recruitment and access coordinator on the Germantown Campus. Dr. Pollard thanked the College community for its outpouring of support for the Winffel family.

The board of trustees is the 10-member governing body of Montgomery College. Members are appointed by the governor for a six-year term and include a student member who serves a one-year term. The board meets once a month from September through June.


Montgomery College is a public, open admissions community college with campuses in Germantown, Rockville, and Takoma Park/Silver Spring, plus workforce development/continuing education centers and off-site programs throughout Montgomery County, Md. The College serves nearly 60,000 students a year, through both credit and noncredit programs, in more than 130 areas of study.

Back To Top
×Close search