skip to Main Content

The Montgomery College Board of Trustees held its fourth meeting of the academic year Monday, December 14, 2015. The trustees recognized the 43-year career of Dr. Judy E. Ackerman, vice president and provost of the Rockville Campus, renaming the campus’ Math/Science Center in her honor.

Dr. Ackerman began her career at Montgomery College in 1972 as a professor in the mathematics department. She served later as chair and instructional dean for science, engineering and mathematics. Throughout her four decades of service, Dr. Ackerman was a leader across the college, in the community and in her profession, including the establishment of the Judy E. and Michael Ackerman ACES Endowed scholarship which generously supports students studying mathematics, computer science or other STEM disciplines.

In other business, the Board of Trustees considered the proposed FY17 $314 million operating budget and the College’s facilities master plan.

Dr. DeRionne P. Pollard, president of Montgomery College, said the proposed budget “focuses on a commitment to student learning, success, and completion through expanding the ACES program, advancing the achieving the promise efforts, increasing Board scholarships, and opening two new planned facilities on the Rockville Campus.”

The budget will also reflect the College’s commitment to employees with increased compensation. The Board is set to vote on the budget at the January 2016 meeting. The approved budget will then go to the county for funding consideration. The facilities master plan will be submitted to the Maryland Higher Education Commission in February.

The board of trustees is the 10-member governing body of Montgomery College. Members are appointed by the governor for a six-year term and include a student member who serves a one-year term. The board meets once a month.


Montgomery College is a public, open admissions community college with campuses in Germantown, Rockville, and Takoma Park/Silver Spring, plus workforce development/continuing education centers and off-site programs throughout Montgomery County, Md. The College serves nearly 60,000 students a year, through both credit and noncredit programs, in more than 130 areas of study.

Back To Top
×Close search