skip to Main Content

Nevart Tahmazian Is the Seventh Consecutive MC Professor Selected as Professor of the Year

Date: November 19, 2015
Media Contacts: Marcus Rosano 240-567-4022; Fritzi Bodenheimer, 240-567-4098

Montgomery College Chemistry Professor Earns State’s Top Teaching Honor
Nevart Tahmazian Is the Seventh Consecutive MC Professor Selected as Professor of the Year

Nevart Tahmazian, a professor of chemistry at Montgomery College, has been named the 2015 Maryland Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education (CASE).

“I believe the opportunities are endless to reach out to students, one by one, and make a difference in their lives,” Tahmazian said.

This is the ninth time in 12 years—and the seventh year in a row—that a Montgomery College professor has been named Maryland Professor of the Year.

Watch Montgomery College Television’s “MC Today” featuring Professor Tahmazian here.

“On the first day of class, I ask students to introduce themselves, to talk about their backgrounds and share some of their hobbies,” the professor says. “I tell them the class is like a train. We are going to leave the station with everyone on board and we won’t stop for 15 weeks; we need an environment of respect so we don’t allow anyone to fall off the train.”

In addition to her classroom work, Tahmazian also acts as an advisor to the STEM ED Community Club and the Learning Assistant Program, both of which encourage students to become educators in the fields of science, technology, engineering and math (STEM).

Montgomery College Professor Nevart Tahmazian.

In addition, Professor Tahmazian is a long time community outreach ambassador, promoting chemistry in local schools. In 2015, she was recognized as the local Outreach Volunteer of the Year by the American Chemical Society.

Dr. Judy Ackerman, vice president and provost of the Rockville Campus, says the professor’s commitment is “exemplary and praiseworthy.”

Tahmazian served a three-year term as the coordinator for the prestigious National Institute of Standards and Technology summer internship program, enhancing professional opportunities for students.  And, working with other faculty members, she secured a $600,000 grant which help to provide 150 scholarships to engineering students.

Tahmazian says she is grateful for the support of her fellow faculty members who have helped her to grow professionally and “live her dream of teaching.”

Dr. Mary Furgol, a history professor, received the honor in 2003. In 2006, Joan Naake, an English professor, won the award. In 2009, the award went to Susan Bontems, professor of chemistry, followed by Dr. Deborah Stearns, professor of psychology; Dawn Avery, professor of music; John Hamman, professor of math; Dr. Greg Wahl, professor of English; and KenYatta Rogers, professor of theater, respectively.


Montgomery College is a public, open admissions community college with campuses in Germantown, Rockville, and Takoma Park/Silver Spring, plus workforce development/continuing education centers and off-site programs throughout Montgomery County, Md. The College serves nearly 60,000 students a year, through both credit and noncredit programs, in more than 130 areas of study.

Back To Top
×Close search