skip to Main Content

Montgomery College Wins 2014 NAHB Residential Construction Management Competition

The NAHB Student Chapter at Montgomery College won first place in the Two-Year College category of the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) Residential Construction Management Competition (RCMC) held at the 2014 NAHB International Builders’ Show in Las Vegas in February. Montgomery College finished ahead of Tarrant County College (Texas) and the Pennsylvania College of Technology.

More than 75,000 builders, remodelers, students, faculty members and suppliers packed the aisles at the 2014 International Builders’ Show, Design & Construction Week. Fifty-six teams representing universities, community colleges, high schools and career technical schools across the U.S. participated in the annual competition.

“Congratulations to the NAHB Student Chapter at Montgomery College,” said John Courson, president and CEO of HBI. “They and their competitors showed a great deal of talent along with a depth of understanding of building industry management, from drafting to scheduling to estimating.” Courson was the master of ceremonies during the student awards ceremony at the show.

During the competition, students solve real-life construction management problems and present their solutions to a judging panel of residential construction industry experts.

The Montgomery College team consisted of Emily Drouet, Roli Rathore, Matt Trumble, Andrew Wiley and David Zarate. The team was coached by professors Mark Corfman and Shorieh Talaat.

According to Corfman, “the competition represents maybe the best opportunity students have to learn to work on a team that mirrors how the industry works. They work very hard and learn more about their prospective professions through the many hours spent on the competition than they can in their classes. It pushes them to perform detailed design, scheduling and estimating and to work as a team throughout; particularly during the presentation in much the same way projects are won and lost in the industry. It’s an invaluable experience, and particularly rewarding because after placing second in 2012, and third last year, this team won it all!”

“Our team’s success exemplifies the quality of the education they have received and their tireless pursuit of excellence,” Talaat added. “Their success is the greatest reward an educator can receive.”

Awards were given in three main categories: Four-Year College, Two-Year College and Secondary School Programs. The winners are:

A full list of award winners, including faculty and student chapter awards, can be found online at

Back To Top
×Close search