skip to Main Content

Montgomery College to Honor Outstanding Alumni, Athletes Former Students Recognized for Achievements in Careers, Sports

Montgomery College will honor several of its successful students and student-athletes of past years at its 2011 Alumni Awards Dinner on Friday, April 15. Four former students are to receive the Milton F. Clogg Outstanding Alumni Achievement Award from the College’s alumni association, and four others will enter the College’s Athletic Hall of Fame.

Six-time Emmy Award-winning journalist Sue Palka, veteran broadcaster for WTTG Fox 5, will serve as master of ceremonies.

The College’s Outstanding Alumni Achievement Award recipients are selected each year for demonstrating exemplary service to their community, profession and/or to the College. This year’s honorees are as follows:

  • Carey B. Dove ’82 is president and CEO of M&M Welding and Fabricators, Inc., one of the largest mechanical contractors in the Washington, DC area. She has taken the company that her father started and grown it into one of the most successful woman-owned businesses in the region.
  • Robert J. Hydorn ’71 is vice president of Fitzgerald Auto Malls. He has been a member of the Fitzgerald team for more than 25 years, starting in the showroom working with customers, and now representing the company’s interests in Montgomery County and beyond.
  • Andre Mendes ’82 is CIO/CTO for the Broadcasting Board of Governors, the Federal agency responsible for all civilian U.S. broadcasts abroad, and Director of the Office of Technology, Services and Innovation for the United States International Broadcasting Bureau.
  • Edward Riggs ’69 is chair of the Communication Arts Technologies Department at Montgomery College, where he built the College’s first Apple Macintosh lab at the dawn of the desktop publishing age. He also developed the College’s first instructional high-speed network and Internet access services.

Also at the awards dinner, the Montgomery College Athletic Hall of Fame will welcome its newest members. Former Montgomery College athletes are eligible for the Hall of Fame by demonstrating outstanding athletic achievement as a student, outstanding contributions as a coach, and/or outstanding athletic achievement after leaving Montgomery College. This year’s inductees are as follows:

  • Jerry Kelley ’73 was the 1972 and 1973 track and field MVP, competing in the long jump, triple jump, high jump, mile relay, and decathlon. He still holds the College’s record for points scored in track and field over a two-year period.
  • Bruce Lindblad ’69 took the 1969 wrestling team to first place in the region. He now coaches wrestling at Atholton High School, which has produced six individual state champions and won the regional championship in 2000—the same year the Washington Post named him Howard County’s coach of the year.
  • Steve Sarles ’76 captained the College’s 1975 state championship soccer team, taking all-American honors himself. He continued to lead nationally ranked teams after transferring to Davis and Elkins College in West Virginia.
  • Jim Steel ’86 was lineman of the year in 1985 for the College’s football team; as a sophomore, he led the Knights to a 9-2 record and the Mid-America Bowl in Tulsa, Oklahoma. He coached the College’s defensive line in 1993, and now is head strength and conditioning coach at the University of Pennsylvania.

Montgomery College’s 2011 alumni awards dinner will be held Friday, April 15, at the Rockville Campus. For more information about the Outstanding Alumni Award recipients or the Athletic Hall of Fame inductees, visit or call the Montgomery College Alumni Association at 240-567-5378. Tickets are available online at

Back To Top
×Close search